The Iowa-Illinois local section was formed in 1968 and approved by AIHA in 1969.

The membership base covers the territory south of Chicago and the Iowa north border east to Peoria, south as far as the St. Louis area, and as far west as Des Moines. Members come from academia, government, manufacturing, insurance, consulting, services, and medical sectors. We are professionals dedicated to protecting the health and well-being of the worker and the community through the anticipation, recognition, evaluation, and control of those stresses affecting the worker and/or the environment within the Iowa/Illinois region.​

The goals of the Iowa-Illinois Local Sec​tion are . . .

  • To promote the purposes of AIHA to professionals within our region.
  • To protect the health and safety of the worker.
  • To protect the communities and environment within the region.
  • To promote the safety, health, and environmental professions within the region through encouragement and cooperation with, government, industrial, educational, and other professional bodies.
  • To increase the knowledge base of the safety, health, and environmental professions through interchange and dissemination of information.
  • To bring together individuals interested in any and all aspects of the safety, health, and environmental professions.​

Fellow Awardees

Fellows of AIHA are individuals who have been full members in good standing for a minimum of 15 years. These individuals have been nominated by a local section, committee, special interest group or other formal AIHA entity for their recognized achievement in the field of industrial hygiene. Individua​​ls are approved as Fellows by the AIHA Board of Directors after recommendation by the Awards Committee. Those full members given the title Fellow will be limited to no more than five percent of the full members.

The Iowa-Illinois Local Section is proud to have three of it's members elevated to Fellow status:

  • Cindy Baldwin,
  • Martin (Marty) Jones, and
  • Denis Ziemet

Our Bylaws